Jim Valvano

The late Jim Valvano, more affectionately known as Jimmy V, passed away on April 28th 1993, at the age of 47. He coached Division 1 basketball at North Carolina State from 1980 to 1990, with an overall record of 209-110 (71-69 record against ACC teams) including a National Championship victory in 1983. He also took his team to one sweet sixteen and two elite eights.

During the 1993 ESPY Award show Jimmy V received the Arthur Ashe Courage Award, what followed was the best sports speech of all-time. He closed the speech in the best way possible. 

“Cancer can take away all of my physical abilities. It cannot touch my mind, it cannot touch my heart, and it cannot touch my soul. And those three things are going to carry on forever. I thank you and God bless you all.”

He set up the V. Foundation for Cancer Research and the motto “Don’t give up, don’t ever give up”

Published by cooljake97

My name is Jake. I provide sports profiles on players, coaches, team owners, and other sports figures across a variety of sports. there's something here for everyone.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started