What The 2023 Major League Baseball Season Meant To Me

The 2023 Major League Baseball season is over after a surprising run to the World Series by the Arizona Diamondbacks who eventually lost to the Texas Rangers in 5 games. There’s a lot to unpack for this wild season. Today, I’ll be providing my perspective on the season from my personal experience as a 4-year employee and a lifetime fan of the Diamondbacks. From the World Baseball Classic to forging new friendships and strengthening current ones, and of course the World Series. I will also talk about my lifelong fandom for the team and the sport of baseball and how my greatest dreams became true. Without further ado, it’s time to take that deep dive into an unforgettable season.

The 2023 baseball season began in March when Chase Field in downtown Phoenix played host to the World Baseball Classic. I got to be on the field holding the flag of the United States of America during the national anthem for game 1 of the round robin stage. Then I got to witness the game as a fan and it was really fun. The U.S. advanced out of the round robin stage but they would go on to lose in the championship game against Japan. I work the 50/50 raffle for the Arizona Diamondbacks, so I got to sell raffle tickets during the World Baseball Classic games at Chase Field, the home stadium for the Diamondbacks. I’ll expand on my experience working for the team in the paragraphs to follow.

Following the World Baseball Classic in March, the Diamondbacks had their home opener on April 6th. It was go-time for 2023 as I embarked on my 4th full season working for my favorite team the Arizona Diamondbacks. I put a lot of effort and passion into my job, but nothing I did could have ever prepared me for what would unfold during this season. I got to throw out the first pitch before a baseball game in April, the Dbacks made the playoffs for the first time since 2017, and they made it all the way to the World Series for the first time since 2001. This meant that I would have the opportunity to sell raffle tickets during all of the Dbacks home playoff games, including the World Series. It was everything I had imagined and more.

Even though the season began April 6, the magic started on April 23rd when the Dbacks played division rival San Diego Padres at Chase Field. It was Autism Awareness Day at the ballpark, and because I am on the Autism Spectrum and have been a loyal employee since 2019, the team invited me to throw out the ceremonial first pitch before the game to promote success for people with Autism. I got the call from my Boss Tara. Without hesitation, I said yes. Not only did I throw out the first pitch, but my favorite player Merrill Kelly was behind the plate to catch it. He autographed the ball for me as well. Finally, MLB authenticated the ball, which means it is an official game used ball. Being able to meet my favorite player and have my own personal MLB authenticated ball was so amazing. It was definitely way beyond the realm of possibilities and I’m so fortunate that it happened and it will last a lifetime.

As magical as it was to be able to pitch a ball to my favorite player, the magic didn’t end there. The Diamondbacks clinched the playoffs in the 161st game of the season as a wild card team. It was the first time the team made the playoffs since 2017. The Dbacks won two road games in Milwaukee during the Wild Card Round, which set the stage for the Diamondbacks to play at least one game at home in the Division Series. I joined the 50/50 raffle team for the Diamondbacks in 2019. So, it became the first time I would get to work during the playoffs. The team made it all the way to the World Series for the first time since 2001, and I got to work every single home game, including 3 World Series games. It was awesome.

In addition to the excitement of the World Baseball Classic, throwing out the ceremonial first pitch, and making the World Series, the Dbacks 50/50 raffle team surpassed $5 million in total sales for the year. This was an all-time record number for the Dbacks 50/50 raffle team. I sold over $4,400 during Game 5 of the World Series, a new personal best. The total jackpot for Game 5 surpassed $226 thousand. The charity half of the 50/50 raffle benefits youth sports initiatives across the state of Arizona.

Finally, the 2023 season was made even more amazing because of the people I get to work with every single game. The Dbacks did not finish on the winning end of things this year, but building and strengthening long-lasting friendships is of far greater value than any championship can bring. Hopefully, the Dbacks will be back in the World Series in 2024 and celebrate a championship then. For now, it was a remarkable season that will never be forgotten.

Published by cooljake97

My name is Jake. I provide sports profiles on players, coaches, team owners, and other sports figures across a variety of sports. there's something here for everyone.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started